Favorite Things, Fode Bayo edition

9 June 2013

Lilies that emerge from the ground with the rains.

Lilies that emerge from the ground with the rains.

 

 

I should write this down while it lasts.  It rained the night before last and last night, my first night back from vacation and COS conference.  This means the dry hot of hot season I giving way to rainy season.  Rainy season is refreshing and exciting because you can count on a rain most days.  As for now, we have the hot of hot season mixed with the humidity of rainy season without the relief.  Heat rash is running rampant.  It’s the time of year development people call “hunger season” when the gardens are finished and we’re running low on last year’s grains. The amount of food in the bowl has decreased at lunch and dinner.  And to add to it, we are talking about preparing to fast for Ramadan.

This does not sound like an appealing time of year, but it is.  Field work is just beginning and everyone is excited for a fresh start.  A thin carpet of lime green, new grass covers the fields.  There are ripe mangoes and kaba (sour sop), and a few cashew apples left over.  It reminds me of the first days of spring.

I’m glad this hellish humidity is what I came back to.  It let me love all the things I love about Fodé Bayo despite the weather.  Glaring out, a clear spot in the humid haze, was this list of things I love:

1)    I woke up with the sun (before the day’s heat is up).

2)    I was able to run and do yoga in one day.

3)    During the break time in the middle of the day I read and talked with friends.

4)    I gave my host brother batteries as a gift from the US and he brought forest-sourced honey.

5)    I ate five fresh fruits and vegies from the gardens and trees around my village.

Getting to work!  Building a check dam with my host brothers to protect their corn field from a slowly growing erosion channel.

Getting to work! Building a check dam with my host brothers to protect their corn field from a slowly growing erosion channel.

6)    I held a 1-day-old baby today.

7)    I got my hands dirty.

8)    I taught someone something.

9)    I learned something.

10) I made a new friend.

11) I was challenged to speak four languages in one day.

12) I got to play with my dog.

13) I showered outside.

14) I hugged friends.

15) I laughed.

I know that these things fade with long days in the heat and frustrations with work partners, but I’m glad my first day back from home reminded me why I also call this place home and these people family.

Love to both my families,

MaryCad.

2 thoughts on “Favorite Things, Fode Bayo edition

Leave a Reply

